Princess Emma Reviews: Crave Me by M. Robinson

Princess Emma Reviews: Crave Me by M. RobinsonCrave Me: The Good Ol' Boys on May 10th 2016
Pages: 428
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

They say in order to find yourself you have to go home. What if home was what you were running from? Where did that leave you? Always on the other side of the fence. Always looking in. Always wishing you were someone you couldn't be. Until one day you meet her. The one. She was my high, but she was also... My demise.

Series: Good Ol' Boys #4
Also in this series: Undo Me: The Good Ol' Boys, Complicate Me (The Good Ol' Boys, #1), Complicate Me (The Good Ol' Boys, #1)

5 Crowns

Book 4 in the Good Ol’ Boys series. Each book is a standalone read featuring a character from a group of lifelong friends. You do not need to have read the previous books, but you do HAVE to. This series is amazing and you will only feel more emotionally connected to the main characters in this book if you have read their journey from the very beginning.

Austin has always been the most enigmatic of his group of friends. With 3 of the boys older than him and the only girl of their tight knit group younger, he has never felt he quite fitted in. Always trying to be one of them, to be the perfect good ol’ boy, the best friend he could be and to fit the mould that his parents had created for him seriously takes its toll. One day Austin decides that to find himself he must walk away from them all. Become a man that suits him and not everyone else. But in doing so he must either face his demons head on, or mask them until one day they rear their ugly head and maybe just kill him or the relationships he craves forever.

PEm circle 400

Briggs lost her parents at a young age and has blamed their deaths on herself ever since. Sent to live with her uncle that is shady to say the least, she lives in a bubble he has created without friends or any affection from him. When she realises that the only direction she can take in life is the pathway her uncle sets out for her, little does she know that it will lead her towards a man that will be her saviour, her addiction and her own personal hell.

A chance meeting between Austin and Briggs sets them on a love story like no other. They become dependent on each other, but one of them has a darkness, a craving, an addiction that will send them both spiralling down. Will their love be enough to save them, or will the dependency they each fight be their ultimate downfall.

F**k me sideways, what an amazing story and what a conclusion to a seriously EPIC series. What I have loved most about this series is how different each characters journey is. These aren’t stories told over a few months or even a year. These journey take you from childhood, well into adulthood. It is impossible not become emotionally connected to these characters and both the joys and battles they face as years pass them by.

Austin more than any other character has been somewhat of a mystery. He has always played his cards close to his chest, but we also knew he had serious issues. Austin’s continued involvement with drugs won’t surprise any fan of this series. But the severity and the direction his life takes will. Briggs was introduced in previous books as someone he meets on his travels. We get to know her and her background more and we are introduced to a world far removed from the peaceful place Austin grew up in.

Their love is toxic, all-consuming and becomes an addiction for them both. You will watch there slow decline and I found myself hating Briggs at times for introducing Austin into a world that would only end one way. But no one could hate Briggs as much as she hates herself and she tries so hard to be the person to wake Austin up to the depravity of his life.

So although much of this book happens away from his childhood friends, will they be the ones to save him or will Austin be the only one that can save himself?

I am so sad to say goodbye to Lucas, Half-pint, Dylan, Jacob and Austin. They have become important to me and I feel like I have held their hands through every up, down, forwards and backwards step they have taken. This is without doubt one of the most heart-wrenching, angst-building series I have ever read. I have laughed, I have cried and have had my heart warmed by their stories and their friendships. I don’t think a full series has ever gotten 5 stars for every single book from me, and if I could give each book more I would.


If you haven’t yet read an M. Robinson book then I implore you to do so. Her writing style, imagination, choice of words and characterisation is first class. She is a huge talent and an author that I am so pleased to have stumbled across. I now can’t wait for her next project, El Dialo. Once you have read Crave Me you will be just as excited as me.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.