Series: If I Break

Princess Emma Reviews: Shattered Pieces by Portia Moore

Princess Emma Reviews: Shattered Pieces by Portia MooreIf I Break #4 Shattered Pieces by Portia Moore
Buy on Amazon
4.5 Stars
Series: If I Break #4
Also by this author: What Happens After, What Happens After, The Trouble With Before, Before I Break (If I Break 1.5), Almost Broken (If I Break #2), Beautifully Broken (If I Break #3), If I Break (If I Break #1), The Trouble With Before, He Lived Next Door, If I Break #4 Shattered Pieces

4.5 Crowns

Book 4 in the absolutely amazing If I Break Series. To save confusion this series includes 3 full length novels and 1 novella. There are also 2 further standalones that follow the lives of some of the secondary characters. This is one comprehensive series and one that I couldn’t wait to jump back into. PLEASE… if you haven’t read any of these book, stop reading this review now as it will spoil the story for you. You have been warned!!

Lauren knows only one thing. She loves her daughter Caylen and she loves her husband, whoever that maybe… Today.

Having fought an uphill battle to find a happiness that she once believed nothing could ruin, she now finds herself fighting the biggest battle of all. The guilt she has just from loving her husband and the father of her child makes her feel crazy, but that is life when you fall in love with a man with D.I.D or Dissociative Identity Disorder. Her friends worry for her, as does his family, but how can she turn her back on love… or will it turn on her?

Chris/Cal is at a crossroads. Hating each other is causing more harm than good, with neither backing down in their love for Lauren and Caylen. So when another threatens the balance even further, will they just shatter to pieces or will they mend all that is broken to finally find happiness?


Another brilliant book by Portia. Man, this author has serious storytelling skills. This is without doubt one of the most unique series of books I have read… and I have read A LOT! All her books are well structured, developed and researched but more than that they are emotional journeys. If anything Shattered Pieces ramps the emotions up another notch for this particular couple. It comes across as a real make or break moment for the Scott’s, like something really has to give… and it does, in so many ways.

I’m going to leave it there as I would hate to give anything away, but the conclusion of these characters story was brilliant. Will there be more? Who knows? I never expected to get Gwen and Will’s story or even Lisa’s, so I certainly wouldn’t but it past her to delve a little deeper into characters that have popped up along the way. In the meantime we can look forward to a new standalone, which will be a sure fire 1 click for me. This author could put out a version of the phone directory and I would read it; she really is that talented.


So if you have read this review before reading the others, shame on you for not heeding my warning. But if like me you are emotionally invested in these characters and their story, get reading now because you will love it! This series is without doubt the best books I have ever stumbled across!