Series: The Royals

Princess Kelly Reviews: Fallen Heir by Erin Watt

Princess Kelly Reviews: Fallen Heir by Erin WattFallen Heir (The Royals, #4) by Erin Watt
Pages: 295
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

These Royals will ruin you.

Easton Royal has it all: looks, money, intelligence. His goal in life is to have as much fun as possible. He never thinks about the consequences because he doesn’t have to.

Until Hartley Wright appears, shaking up his easy life. She’s the one girl who’s said no, despite being attracted to him. Easton can’t figure her out and that makes her all the more irresistible.

Hartley doesn’t want him. She says he needs to grow up.

She might be right.

Rivals. Rules. Regrets. For the first time in Easton’s life, wearing a Royal crown isn’t enough. He’s about to learn that the higher you start, the harder you fall.

Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

Easton and Hartley’s story is complex and deeply moving as bad boy meets good girl in this 4th instalment of what has become my favourite YA series of all time.

They said these Royals will ruin you, and they were not joking because as much as I love the other Brothers, it was Easton whose dangerous and carefree persona that captivated me the most, and not because he was the good to be bad Brother who took things to be extreme, but because it was obvious that he was also the most complex and damaged.

This is the book that flays open those layers and gives us a true glimpse into the twisted, hilarious and often heartbreaking make up of Easton Royal, the middle child, as he embarks on a new journey of self discovery.

Often surrounded by admirers, Easton has the world at his feet, yet most of the time he feels alone and alienated due to his addictive and often self destructive personality that started at a very young age. He’s a whirlwind that takes flight and crashes in the next, the wayward son, who when left to his own devices becomes his own worst enemy.

Hartley Wright is an enigma, a recluse. A small, ordinary girl happy to walk within the new school corridor shadows; that is until she opens the wrong door and comes face to face with the Royal boy with a bad reputation up to no good. Even though she promises to keep what she witnessed a secret, Easton is aware of the consequences and makes it his mission to plant himself firmly in the path of the exasperating girl who berates, disregards and refuses to engage in any funny business with one of the most eligible batchelors in town.

He’s a distraction she doesn’t need, and she’s the new addiction that he just can’t get enough of.

What happens when two young people hit an impasse? Well, they become friends, and best friends at that. Easton and Hartley both find themselves on a steep learning curve when it comes to trust and unravelling of secrets, ones that will have your heart in your throat and your brain coming to all sorts of viable conclusions as to who this girl really is and what is she hiding? The suspense is off the charts and just when you think these two kids have it all sorted, another blow hits knocking them sideways.

Through it all one thing becomes highly apparent in that Easton isn’t all what he seems to be…behind the camaraderie is a heart of gold and a lost boy missing his Mum. There were times I wanted to slap him, hug him and kiss him at the same time and I felt Hartley wanted to do the same which is what made this story work so well.

Easton is at a crossroads and Hartley is the driving force, surely they were made for a happily ever after, right? Well…. with that ending all I can say is there is no way their story is over and right now I’m still reeling over it. I haven’t slept all night and I haven’t stopped thinking about it all day – a true testament of an epic 5 star read.

The dynamite duo have done it again, and yes…. I’m Ruined!

Divider

Princess Emma Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

Princess Emma Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin WattTwisted Palace (The Royals, #3) by Erin Watt
on October 17th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
4 Stars

These Royals will ruin you…
From mortal enemies to unexpected allies, two teenagers try to protect everything that matters most.
Ella Harper has met every challenge that life has thrown her way. She’s tough, resilient, and willing to do whatever it takes to defend the people she loves, but the challenge of a long-lost father and a boyfriend whose life is on the line might be too much for even Ella to overcome.
Reed Royal has a quick temper and even faster fists. But his tendency to meet every obstacle with violence has finally caught up with him. If he wants to save himself and the girl he loves, he’ll need to rise above his tortured past and tarnished reputation.
No one believes Ella can survive the Royals. Everyone is sure Reed will destroy them all.They may be right.
With everything and everyone conspiring to keep them apart, Ella and Reed must find a way to beat the law, save their families, and unravel all the secrets in their Twisted Palace.
---------------
Q: Are you trying to kill us?
No, but we love Ella so much and her adventures with the Royals that we needed to write this third book. You’ll see when you read it.
Q: Who’s in this book? And don’t say Ella!
Ella, the five Royal brothers, and a few more huge surprises.

Series: The Royals #3
Also in this series: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)
Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

4 Crowns

Book 3 in The Royals series. This is the conclusion of Ella and Reed’s story and because of the continuing storyline, it is important that you read the previous books before embarking on this one. In fact, if you haven’t read them stop reading this review now as it will contain some spoilers… you have been warned.

So Twisted Palace picks up from where we were left teetering on a cliff edge, wondering what would happen to Reed who had been arrested following the discovery of a murdered Brooke. Not only that but poor Ella not only having to contend with her boyfriend being carted off, she was blindsided by the appearance of her father; a stranger to her and a man presumed dead. Indeed folks, the plot had thickened and I along with many others couldn’t wait to find the answers to the many questions that this series has thrown up.

What I am not going to do at this point is go into too much of Twisted Palace’s storyline. What I can say is that both Reed and Ella are in for a tough ride in this book. Having finally found their happy place with each other, situations and people will now try to pull them apart. Reed is adamant he will protect Ella and his family from forces who conspire against them, and on Ella’s part she is determined to clear Reed’s name.

PEm circle 200

As with the previous books, more secrets will come to light as well as many lingering questions answered. Are the twists as dramatic and shocking as in the previous books in the series? Some, but for me not all. But it doesn’t take away the fact that this series and this family have captured the hearts and imagination of many a book nerd. This author duo are certainly a force to be reckoned with. Think the Emperor and Darth Vader, Ginger Rodgers and Fred Astaire, Batman and Robin. Jen Frederick and Elle Kennedy have found a perfect partnership… long may it continue.

So as we wave good-bye to Reed and Elle, I hope that the author’s will listen to their many fans. This series has so much more that could and should be explored. Everyone’s favourite Royal, Easton of course, but for me Gideon even more so. He has been an enigma throughout this series and I seriously need his story.

 

A great end to (I’m not going to say series) Reed and Ella’s story. If you haven’t read it yet, what are you waiting for!

Divider

Princess Elizabeth Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

Princess Elizabeth Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin WattTwisted Palace (The Royals, #3) by Erin Watt
on October 17th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

These Royals will ruin you…
From mortal enemies to unexpected allies, two teenagers try to protect everything that matters most.
Ella Harper has met every challenge that life has thrown her way. She’s tough, resilient, and willing to do whatever it takes to defend the people she loves, but the challenge of a long-lost father and a boyfriend whose life is on the line might be too much for even Ella to overcome.
Reed Royal has a quick temper and even faster fists. But his tendency to meet every obstacle with violence has finally caught up with him. If he wants to save himself and the girl he loves, he’ll need to rise above his tortured past and tarnished reputation.
No one believes Ella can survive the Royals. Everyone is sure Reed will destroy them all.They may be right.
With everything and everyone conspiring to keep them apart, Ella and Reed must find a way to beat the law, save their families, and unravel all the secrets in their Twisted Palace.
---------------
Q: Are you trying to kill us?
No, but we love Ella so much and her adventures with the Royals that we needed to write this third book. You’ll see when you read it.
Q: Who’s in this book? And don’t say Ella!
Ella, the five Royal brothers, and a few more huge surprises.

Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

WOW! What a Royal culmination to this series!!

The Royals will leave you never wanting to leave their castle!

This well anticipated third book in the Royal series has had us circling the castle with pitchforks until Erin got it into the Princesses hands….

Ok… we all remember the cliffy of all cliffies in book 1, then we had the Oh hell no, what the hell ending in book 2!  Now book 3 gives us whiplash and it is amazing!

We have come to know and love Ella Royal… She is the feisty girl who was thrust into this amazing family of Royals and it was sink or swim!  Luckily for us… she swam and has come into her own.  She is now part of a family that wanted her gone, and now would fight to the death to get her back if she left.

PE circle 400

Getting to the Royals, we get the oh so (sigh) want to lick him all over, Reed Royal.  He has come from a cocky, arrogant rich boy, to a cocky arrogant man who will do anything to keep what he loves safe and protected.  Regardless of his own fate.  And at this time, he is being charged with murder and things are not looking good for him at all.

Throw in some twists and turns and surprising guests at this late hour and you get a story that just blows you away!  The way Erin intricately weaves this tale to give us an ending worthy of applause will leave you with your mouth agape and eyes wide!

This is the perfect Royal ending for a perfectly Royally twisted family!  This series is an absolute must read!!


Divider

Princess Kelly Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin Watt

Princess Kelly  Reviews: Twisted Palace by Erin WattTwisted Palace (The Royals, #3) by Erin Watt
on October 17th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

These Royals will ruin you…
From mortal enemies to unexpected allies, two teenagers try to protect everything that matters most.
Ella Harper has met every challenge that life has thrown her way. She’s tough, resilient, and willing to do whatever it takes to defend the people she loves, but the challenge of a long-lost father and a boyfriend whose life is on the line might be too much for even Ella to overcome.
Reed Royal has a quick temper and even faster fists. But his tendency to meet every obstacle with violence has finally caught up with him. If he wants to save himself and the girl he loves, he’ll need to rise above his tortured past and tarnished reputation.
No one believes Ella can survive the Royals. Everyone is sure Reed will destroy them all.They may be right.
With everything and everyone conspiring to keep them apart, Ella and Reed must find a way to beat the law, save their families, and unravel all the secrets in their Twisted Palace.
---------------
Q: Are you trying to kill us?
No, but we love Ella so much and her adventures with the Royals that we needed to write this third book. You’ll see when you read it.
Q: Who’s in this book? And don’t say Ella!
Ella, the five Royal brothers, and a few more huge surprises.

Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

5 Star perfection yet again from the dynamite duo! 

These Royals will ruin you, but you will enjoy every second of it!

This third book is almost impossible to review without planting spoilers because it really answers many questions whilst raising new ones in the form of ‘who did it’ that gave this book a high dose of suspense, differing in style from the previous two.

Ella has become a real favourite heroine of mine. She’s a ballsy character who has had to pick up the pieces time and time again – firstly as a young child; with a flighty Mother and little money, resilience has always been key but nothing tested her more than becoming embroiled with the Royals after her Mother lost her battle with cancer. Those precarious times are over in respect of her position within the family as she is now settled and loved by all, but none more so than Reed Royal.

Reed knows his heart, and in order to protect the ones he loves, he is desperately trying to keep Ella out of the brewing shit-storm that had been unleashed at the end of book two. Now a murder suspect, Reed’s innocence is jeopardised due to his love of fighting and reputation of carrying a short fuse, finding that proving his innocence is harder than it seems.

Ella is petrified of the investigation outcome and decides to do some detective work of her own – unfortunately it means getting close to the she-devil and a man she has only ever heard of by name.

With a boyfriend looking at jail time, a newly found over-bearing Father throwing his weight, and Brooke’s killer still very much walking the streets, for Ella and Reed it seems time is running out and only the innocent will suffer.


Princess Kelly
I really enjoyed this third installment and it was a great way to end the epic love story between Ella and Reed, albeit it was no easy ride. Twisted Palace certainly felt different to the other two books – where they focused more on Ella’s new twist of fate and the many issues plaguing the Royal boys in the aftermath of their Mothers death, this book was about coming together and finding answers, which ultimately helped them all grow closer as a family.

The secondary characters are great, and I can’t get enough of Easton, him and ‘filter’ just don’t go hand in hand and I love that about him. I’ve also been told that he will be getting his own book next which makes me a very happy bunny indeed.

But if I could take a vote (or beg…. are you listening, ladies?), I would love to learn more about Gideon. He is still very much a dark horse and closed off from the rest of the family, but after an event that transpired in this book, I’m hoping it will open doors for him and set him free, and I wanna see that man fly, (and get naked).

These Royals will ruin you, but trust me when I say, you will love every damn second of it.

5 Royal Crowns

Divider

Princess Emma Reviews: Broken Prince by Erin Watt

Princess Emma Reviews: Broken Prince by Erin WattBroken Prince (The Royals, #2) by Erin Watt
on July 25th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
4.5 Stars

These Royals will ruin you…
From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.
Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.
What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.
Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.
She might be right.
Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.

Series: The Royals #2
Also in this series: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)
Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

4.5 Crowns

Book 2 in the much applauded Royals series. If you haven’t read book 1, Paper Princess then do not read this review any further. Broken Prince is very much a continuation of a very complex story and you cannot pick the story up from here.

Blimey, it feels like I have had to wait ages for this book. In reality, as book series go, the authors actually followed book 1 up pretty quick. Paper Princess left on such a major cliff-hanger that it was all I could think about for weeks; mulling over different scenario’s, where the story would go from here and what other skeletons would come out of the closet; It gave me a serious book hangover that I struggled to get past. So when this book finally landed on my kindle, life stopped. I devoured it, eager to see if my hunches were correct. In some areas they were, but others were seriously off base.

Broken Prince starts off just prior to the conclusion of Paper Princess. Now in Reed’s POV we find out the facts and truths about what made Ella run, Reed’s reaction to her disappearance and the knock-on effect it has on every single Royal. So if some of my hunches were indeed correct, it still didn’t affect the shocks, twists and turns that the rest of the story had in store for me. Let me assure you that the Royal’s are back in all their dysfunctional glory, but this book is a lot more sympathetic to each and every one of them. Of course no good book is without a villain or indeed two (maybe even more). Things change for the Royal’s in more ways than one, and it becomes apparent that Ella has become the oil that keeps the family engine moving along healthily.

If I am being super picky, I found the middle section a little slow, but you know the saying “The calm before the storm”, well it gave me a breather in what was a complex and riveting journey. The last 20% seriously raised my blood pressure. So what does that mean for all you readers? Yes, you’ve guessed it. A truly epic ending and one humdinger of a cliff-hanger.

 

This is a brilliantly plotted series with layered characters and original storylines that lace together beautifully. A YA book for even the more mature reader, and a series that is not to be missed.

Divider

Princess Kelly Reviews: Broken Prince by Erin Watt

Princess Kelly Reviews: Broken Prince by Erin WattBroken Prince (The Royals, #2) by Erin Watt
on July 25th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

These Royals will ruin you…
From wharf fights and school brawls to crumbling lives inside glittery mansions, one guy tries to save himself.
Reed Royal has it all—looks, status, money. The girls at his elite prep school line up to date him, the guys want to be him, but Reed never gave a damn about anyone but his family until Ella Harper walked into his life.
What started off as burning resentment and the need to make his father’s new ward suffer turned into something else entirely—keep Ella close. Keep Ella safe. But when one foolish mistake drives her out of Reed’s arms and brings chaos to the Royal household, Reed’s entire world begins to fall apart around him.
Ella doesn’t want him anymore. She says they’ll only destroy each other.
She might be right.
Secrets. Betrayal. Enemies. It’s like nothing Reed has ever dealt with before, and if he’s going to win back his princess, he’ll need to prove himself Royally worthy.

Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

The Royals are back and their high-school hierarchy is about to be tested, loyalty and the bond between Brothers is questioned and love is balancing on a precariously fine edge.

Broken Prince starts where Paper Princess ended, and those of you who have read it know how that one fared on the cliffy Richter-scale. I have been waiting ever so impatiently for this book and trust me when I say, the wait was worth it!

Ella is gone; after finding the man she loves with his own Fathers ex-girlfriend in a very compromising position, the hurt and betrayal is too much for the girl who fell desperately in love with her tormentor as she flees with a view of never returning.

PK circle 400

Reed Royal is furious at how those final moments unfolded and he has a lot of explaining to do, and he will, once he finds the girl who changed his life for the better. With Ella’s disappearance and the knowledge that it was his fault, for the first time the cracks are starting to show, at home and school as the Brothers go at each others throats like never before. Gideon is the only one who believes Ella is better off out of it, whilst Easton feels betrayed by the girl he considered his best friend. Reed is pissed and heartbroken and the twins are becoming more distant by the day.

Callum Reed is concerned for Ella and hires his best P.A to find his ward before she disappears forever, or worse, ends up dead.

Ella has vowed to never return, but when Callum catches up with her and blackmails her into coming back, she makes a decision to return knowing she only needs to make it two-years before college and legal access to her large inheritance. Easy… Until she sets foot into chaos, and realises that her leaving has put an incredible strain on not only the family, but on her own reputation.

Blackmail, betrayal, lust, hate, and love all play a riveting and fundamental part in this stunning sequel that will have you routing for your favourite couple and hoping like hell the enemies and new number one tormentor get their karma in the most unpleasant of ways.

Reed Royal is a great character whose fierce need to protect his family and the girl he loves knows no boundaries – even succumbing to the possibility that things will never be the same again, he steps up to the plate and promises to fight until the very end and I found his actions commendable. He’s an absolute hotty and after reading this sequel I love him more than ever.

Ella Harper is back and she’s not taking any prisoners. Even when the number one high school bitch takes things too far, her retorts are cutting and witty, all the while with a smile on her face and her head held high. I love a strong heroine and by the end of this book, I’m pretty sure you will have a whole new respect for her too.

For me though, Easton is my broken prince in this story, he is the most destructive and hurting in more ways than you can possibly imagine. Deep down he is that lost boy who misses his Mother and secretly craves his Father’s respect, and I hope he gets his own story on what is fast becoming one of my favourite YA contemporary series’ ever!

 

If you loved Paper Princess, you will love Broken Prince and that ending… OMG! Another hit on that Richter-scale peeps, but what a great opening and a thickened plot for book 3. I. CAN’T. WAIT! READ IT!

Divider

Princess Kelly Reviews: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Princess Kelly Reviews: Paper Princess by Erin WattPaper Princess (The Royals, #1) by Erin Watt
on January 1st 1970
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

“This generation’s Cruel Intentions.” Jennifer L. Armentrout, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author
From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.
These Royals will ruin you…
Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone. 
Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.
Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.
He might be right.
Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees. 
QUESTIONS ABOUT THE BOOK
Q: Is this really a YA? 
We recommend this for young adult readers, age 17 and up. We think it’s a book that will appeal to older teens and those adults who are in touch with their inner teen, like us.
Q: Is there a cliffhanger? I’ve heard there’s an awful cliffhanger! Why’d you write a cliffhanger?
We promise that we didn’t set out to write a cliffhanger, but Paper Princess does end in one. The good news is that the next book is up for pre-sale and it will be released July 25, 2016. 
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Erin Watt is the brainchild of two bestselling authors linked together through their love of great books and an addiction to writing. They share one creative imagination. Their greatest love (after their families and pets, of course)? Coming up with fun--and sometimes crazy--ideas. Their greatest fear? Breaking up. You can contact them at their shared inbox: authorerinwatt@gmail.com
MORE PRAISE:
"Intense, haunting & hot—I can't stop thinking about Paper Princess!! The intriguing sexy characters draw you in and don't let go. A true must read!"Emma Chase, New York Times bestselling author of the Tangled and Legal Briefs series 
“Wickedly clever writing, deliciously provocative characters, & chilling final pages made Paper Princess impossible to put down! Confidently a 2016 Top Read!”—ROCKSTARS OF ROMANCE
“Gritty, angsty, steamy, and rife with scandal and secrecy, Paper Princess is the kind of book you hope EVERY book will be when you open it. The kind you can't put down, can't forget about. This book consumed me and thanks to that crazy ending, I won't be moving on from this book for a good long while.” Jessica from Angie & Jessica’s Dreamy Reads

Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

Addictive. Sexy. Unstoppable. Get ready for one Royal family that puts the D in dysfunctional and a capital H in Hotter than sin. Reed Royal… I’m all yours!

I’ve been poor and hungry. I was raised by a stripper. I know how to throw a punch if I have to. But I’m only seventeen. Sometimes that feels too young to have lived the life I have. Sometimes I look around at my surroundings and think, I don’t belong here. 

This book, through all intents and purposes, held me prisoner. From the moment I started, until I read the final word I didn’t move. My breakfast came at 4pm in the afternoon because once Ella’s story got its talons into me, it would have taken a monumental natural disaster to move me from my comfortable reading position. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my Sunday than wrapped up in the warm cocoon of my bed with this addictive, show-stopping read.

To grow up living out of a suitcase was all Ella Harper knew. With a single working Mom trying desperately hard to make ends meet by using what god gave her, Ella didn’t have roots, family or a real friend to her name, but she did have one thing; gumption.
PK circle 400
This girl could work three jobs and still get top marks in school. Losing her Mother to cancer was the hardest challenge she ever had to face, staying ahead of the foster care system and forging her Mother’s signature in a new town so she can stay in school proves her resourcefulness and her maturity, but her dream of remaining anonymous in her pursuit of freedom is thwarted when a trip to the principle’s office one afternoon changes not only her current course but her entire life.

Callum Royal is a household name in aviation. A successful multi-millionaire who, until only recently found out that his best friend and business partner had an illegitimate child. It was a quick relationship 18 years ago, but before he had the chance to meet his Daughter, tragedy struck again when Steven O’Halloran was killed in a gliding accident.

Fulfilling his best friend duties, Callum is on a mission to get the young girl away from the same ‘seedy’ lifestyle her Mom took, and give her a life, a home that Steven would have rightfully provided her – there is just one problem; not only does he have to convince this closed off feisty girl of his good intentions, but the biggest battle is convincing his sons…all five of them.

And wow, what a hell of a read this was. Ella Harper was literally thrown into the lions den, but how she strategised and coped with everything thrown at her was admirable that it had me rooting for her every step of the way.

From squalor to a multi-million dollar home on the beach, and an exclusive private high-school education, Ella was out of her depth many times and the Royal sons were to blame for it all. The Daughter of a stripper residing with the highly respected, powerful Royal sons household an embarrassment to their family name. Their minds are made up and nothing is getting in the way of them breaking her. Nothing.

That is until Gideon, Reed, Easton, Sawyer and Sebastian realise that you can’t really break something that is more powerful than you are. Because in a world of wealth and power there are still demons, there is still pain, and Ella understands that more than most. New-found respect, friendship, even love comes to play a pivotal role, but nothing could have prepared Reed Royal for the blond, blue eyed hurricane about to knock him off his feet.

A battle of wills, a test of strength, and a family living on the edge, this is one book that will have you turning the page with fervour and relishing every second. That ending was a real angst-ridden gutsy move but my goodness did it work. Book two cannot come fast enough for me.

Reed Royal, I’m all yours!

5 ‘Royal’ Crowns

Divider

Princess Emma Reviews: Paper Princess by Erin Watt

Princess Emma Reviews: Paper Princess by Erin WattPaper Princess (The Royals, #1) by Erin Watt
on April 4th 2016
Pages: 370
Goodreads
Buy on Amazon
5 Stars

From strip clubs and truck stops to southern coast mansions and prep schools, one girl tries to stay true to herself.
These Royals will ruin you…
Ella Harper is a survivor—a pragmatic optimist. She’s spent her whole life moving from town to town with her flighty mother, struggling to make ends meet and believing that someday she’ll climb out of the gutter. After her mother’s death, Ella is truly alone.
Until Callum Royal appears, plucking Ella out of poverty and tossing her into his posh mansion among his five sons who all hate her. Each Royal boy is more magnetic than the last, but none as captivating as Reed Royal, the boy who is determined to send her back to the slums she came from.
Reed doesn’t want her. He says she doesn’t belong with the Royals.
He might be right.
Wealth. Excess. Deception. It’s like nothing Ella has ever experienced, and if she’s going to survive her time in the Royal palace, she’ll need to learn to issue her own Royal decrees.

Series: The Royals #1
Also in this series: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)
Also by this author: Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Paper Princess (The Royals, #1), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Broken Prince (The Royals, #2), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Twisted Palace (The Royals, #3), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4), Fallen Heir (The Royals, #4)

5 Crowns

Book 1 in The Royals series.

Ella Harper is all alone in the world. Having never settled in one place very long, following her mother from town to town, she now finds herself trying to finish high school as well as dealing with the grief of losing her mother to cancer. With her eternal optimism she has managed to fool everyone into thinking she isn’t home alone and caring for herself at 17. But things are about to change when a certain Callum Royal turns up looking for her.

Suddenly Ella finds herself under his guardianship, moved across states to live in his huge mansion and thrown together with his five sons who are out to get her; or are they? Determined to keep her independence, she ignores the boys attempts to ostracise her, particularly the ringleader, the second son and prince of Astor Park, Reed Royal. But fighting her attraction to him is the hardest thing of all. Will she become a Royal? Or will she find herself on the streets once again.

The Royal family have secrets and slowly they will begin to come out. Will Ella be able to handle all the deception, secrets and indeed the wealth that is now her life?

OMG! I loved this book. I read the synopsis and it intrigued me for sure. I am a sucker for a good YA, but wow, this book is so much more. Don’t go in expecting an immaturity that often goes hand in hand with a Young Adult book. Oh no, this book has a really mature storyline but with a young cast. And what a cast and storyline it is.

PEm circle 400

Ella is so mature and worldly wise for her years. Having watched her mother bounce from man to man, town to town and then having to watch her die, it has hardened her to life. Being thrown into this new world of money is a massive step for her but one she takes in her stride. Her biggest challenge is the boys; all 5 of them. They give her shit, make her feel like a sponger and make damn sure she knows she doesn’t belong. Ella being the determined person she is sets out to prove them wrong and slowly forms tentative relationships with them. But it is Reed that is the hardest nut to crack, not only because of the way he treats her, but also his absolute determination to keep his distance; the question is why?

This book is full of mystery, intrigue, suspense and angst. Being YA it isn’t full of graphic sex scenes and that works in its favour in my opinion, as it would detract from the pure quality of the storyline. Be warned it does contain one hell of a cliff hanger; but wow what an ending. It had my heart racing as I frantically read it; so much so that I had to read the final two chapters again to make sure I hadn’t missed anything. Needless to say I am now eagerly awaiting Broken Prince, book 2 which will release on 25th July 2016. In fact I hope this series runs on and on; all these Royal deserve to have their stories told and their secrets to come out.

 

If you like your romance to have angst, suspense and a mansion full of secrets, Paper Princess is a MUST READ!  

Divider